Diez McNuggets por Favor – CCM Week Four

25 June 2015

So I realized I haven’t really talked much about anything other than doctrinal things in these emails … That is simply because that’s all I think about these days.  A little update on what goes on here would be as follows: so I live in this big building called the CCM, basically just a dorm with classrooms and a caf (cafeteria). We spend all our time inside except one hour a day to go play futbol. So that sucks, except I love this place. We are 50 feet from a BEAUTIFUL Temple of The Lord. Outstanding. We have gotten more missionaries every two weeks and lost some as well. Right now we have the most we have ever had since I got here. Right now we have a little over 30 missionaries here, all will be serving in either Spain or Russia. We all speak English except for five of the new Spanish speakers we just got.

I got to go to Real Madrid’s field and stuff. Pretty sick – they’re ballers, but Barca still shreds them. #reppin. Got some sick missionaries here I love them all they’re like a family to me. I hopefully will send pictures of my “adventures” outside of the CCM this week or next week depending on the computer. For now you will just be stuck with my selfies.

Spanish is coming along, I definitely speak better than I thought I would, and I’m stoked that I will be able to speak Spanish with my boys in two years. Shout out to my Hale 6 boys #Nubsquad. I guess my Spanish isn’t that good because when I had the chance to order at McDonald’s I didn’t because I don’t know the word for “mcdouble plain” so I left…. Later I realized that I do know how to say that, or I could have said “diez mcnuggets por favor con papas fritas grande” oh well I didn’t want it anyways. Spending Euros is like nothing to me. Euros don’t even seem like real money. Not that I spend money here but just looking at it makes me think they are fake. Don’t worry Mom and Dad I only buy the necessities … like these huge white chocolate bars that are 59 cents. That’s deals. Idk what else there is to say … I’m getting dropped into some place in northern Spain in the next two weeks, so that’s pretty gnarly. I’m stoked though. When I come back you will all see how sick my stache is. Pretty amped on that.

So this week has been amazing. I was getting really down on myself and worrying about certain things and I was really low. Some things that I learned this week are as follows:  The Lord will take us low so that he can lift us higher. Higher than we were before. Though he takes us low he will never leave us. The Lord cannot forget us, He will not forget us, He doesn’t want to forget us. We are graven on His palms. Think about that sentence. He is the Son of God. He could have a perfected body, yet he chose to leave the scars. We are graven on his palms. He suffered for us all. He died for us all. He knows us all – one by one. He knows us personally. This is why He will never leave us alone. In John 14 he talks on this subject. My favorite is in verse 18. It says, “I will not leave you comfortless, I will come to you.”

What will he give us? Verses 16, 17 “another Comforter, that he may abide with you forever… Even the Spirit of truth… dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.” Then in verse 26 we get more clarification. “But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.” First of all, I love that it says remembrance because we all indeed used to know, but we have forgotten. Thankfully we can remember. Then in 27 it says “Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.” This is basically saying that the peace we receive is on a whole other level! I know it is.

Don’t get this all confused though because the Spirit and God don’t physically talk to us. Yes it can happen, but usually it is through feelings. These feelings are explained in Galatians 5:22-23. “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance.” It’s these simple feelings of joy, peace, love. All of these feelings come from God and that is what the Holy Spirit feels like. Not necessarily a voice. I know that the Holy Spirit is real. I have seen its influence so much throughout my life and especially during my time out here. It is truly remarkable, and I know you can al receive these same feelings. I know Jesus Christ is the Son of God and our Savior and Redeemer. He truly suffered for us and paid the price for our sins so we might be able, through him, return and live with God our Father in Heaven.

Elder Turner

IMG_0143

Shout out to all my haters!  My sweet Barcelona jersey!

IMG_0145

We taked to this lady about music. This Elder kills it at piano and even though he is going to Russia, he is fluent in Spanish

IMG_0146

They’re all trying to take my contact!

Leave a Reply

