Good-byes and Big Doughnuts – Vitoria week twelve

September 29, 2015

Elder Sedgwick left today and I’m getting a new companion and staying here in Vitoria for a while longer. Life’s good, the mission is great, and the Church is true.  I’ll be working with elder Oliver and I will be picking him up at 5:00 tonight. He only has one more transfer in the mish than I do and that’s all I know about him, ahaha. Super excited – we’ll be one of, if not the youngest companionship in the mission again.  The language is coming along well, the work is too.  I’m studying and learning like a fiend, and I’m pretty stoked on life and where it’s going.  I’m continuing to cut my own hair and it looks great, and I’m learning how to cook little things here and there.

Well two things I learned this week:  the Skittles here are fake, and the McFlurry is better here because they add caramel sauce with the Oreos. It still doesn’t outweigh the Skittles being fake – so the states are still the promised land.

We had two super weird experiences this week, one with “Crazy Kapes” and the other with “Alan the Greek.” Crazy Kapes is a man we met named Quepa (cape-uh) who canted us, and who was more than a little wasted and very interesting. He kept pointing places and staring off in the distance so elder Sedgwick and I looked wherever he looked and looked wherever he pointed and he was lovin it.  He knew a little about the Church so we stuck around and tried to get his info.  When I told him we were gonna meet on Thursday he said ok.  Then I said alright Thursday at 6:00 and he then said no he couldn’t and proceeded to give me an answer that is not in the missionary vocabulary.  So we wrapped it up with him and said we were going to leave. When we left, he decided to walk with us. So, we walked with him for about three more minutes and the whole time he kept telling elder Sedgwick that he must be from Scotland because of his tie – well I guess you had to be there to understand any of this. We finally parted ways with Crazy Kapes.

Alan the Greek also contacted us this week. He yelled at us across the street in English and we ended up walking over to talk to him.  He said he had seen me before but had not seen elder Sedgwick before, which is weird because I am always with elder Sedgwick (he really had never seen me before).  He said “hey come get a Coke with me” and then as we crossed the street he said “you guys gonna eat too?” Very confused we followed this sketchy guy into a random piso and then long story short Alan the Greek asked us to “convert these two Muslims to Christianity.” Well, we knew that wasn’t going to happen. So, we basically drank our Cokes, had a nice discussion, set a return date, and said we had to go.

My scripture for the week comes from 1 Nephi 6:4 “For the fulness of mine intent is that I may persuade men to come unto the God of Abraham, and the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, and be saved.” I like this scripture because that is the reason why I’m doing what I’m doing. To help my brothers and sisters, children of God, to come unto Christ. That is why I’m out here, not for myself, not for my parents, not for my future family (although me being out here will bless all of them).  The reason why I gave up two years of my life isn’t for them. It’s for the people here in Spain. To help them remember their Lord and their God. To help them grow closer to Him through faith, repentance, baptism, the receiving of the gift of the Holy Spirit, and enduring to the end. The best part is, it’s not over after the mission. I have my whole life to continue to do this.  Every member of this church can be a missionary. You don’t need a chappa and white shirt to be one.

Jesus is the Christ, He lives, and He is guiding this Church through President Thomas S. Monson. What a privilege it is to have a living prophet of God on the earth today.

Love you guys keep it real.

Get Buckets!

Elder Turner

0175eeaf64d766c6c5729c6bf08c92677475713e80012b996b46e952503e756b2390cbee82fd2087c8af01be6ac93b193134408ad21d16484a0bb62ebfc0b701a379bb558cc4af2f749b861b78621ef2d2865b21

Leave a Reply

