Vanilla Pudding

2 November 2015

This week was a ball. We had a Halloween party for our ward, put on by the missionaries. It was pretty good, I guess. There should be some photos and videos coming soon, thanks to Big Nance. I am not really sure what happened, but I guess I got a little crazy during the party (especially the karaoke part). I am going to be a legend in Vitoria for a while …

Transfers are next Tuesday and we will find out if there will be any changes on Saturday night.  I’ll probably be leaving, but who knows, maybe I’ll stay for another transfer. I’ve been here a while honestly.

Last week we snuck into a really nice field to play soccer, it was pretty cool. We play a lot of soccer here, but I’m still not a fan of it.  What I am a fan of, though, is tortilla de patata. I can make a pretty mean one if I say so myself. My wife is in luck.

We returned to the scene of the crime on Sunday, but thankfully there were no more mussels that we had to eat this time, just a tortilla.

I’ve been reading the Book of Mormon like a fiend.  If you haven’t read it, I strongly suggest it. : )  All of the stories in it are interesting.  I’ve also been reading the Bible, which is pretty amazing too. The Bible and the Book of Mormon totally support each other and it’s cool to see all of the similarities.

One thing I read recently that I really liked is found in Matthew, chapter 14.  It reads:

25 And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea.
26 And when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear.
27 But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.

I like these verses because sometimes our first step in coming to Christ is scary. Sometimes we don’t even recognize that the thing that scares us is the thing that is going to save us.  Jesus was familiar to his disciples, yet they recognized him not. One of the grand ironies of the gospel is that the very source of help and safety being offered to us is the thing from which we may, in our mortal shortsightedness, flee. People run from the things of the gospel, the things of Christ all the time because they are scared or they are too worried about how it will make them appear. Too often too many of us run from the very things that will bless us and save us and soothe us. Too often we see gospel commitments and commandments as something to be feared and forsaken. Too often we see these things as something that will tie us down and hold us back from having “fun,” when in reality those are the very things that are going to help build us up and honestly help us have the most happiness in this life and in the life to come. So, if you are currently running from gospel commitments or covenants, if you are afraid that it will be too hard or it won’t work for you, stop.  Stop, take a step back, and analyze how it is going to work for you, because it will.

My dad sent me a quote this week that I love and find comfort in. It’s is from President Dieter F. Uchtdorf, from this past General Conference.  He said, “Brothers and sisters, if you ever think that the gospel isn’t working so well for you [or won’t work for you], I invite you to step back, look at your life from a higher plane, and simplify your approach to discipleship. Focus on the basic doctrines, principles, and applications of the gospel. I promise that God will guide and bless you on your path to a fulfilling life, and the gospel will definitely work better for you.” I’d like to invite you to do the same thing. Don’t get it twisted, keep it simple.

Get buckets!

Elder Turner

01255ccbcd9292df4081cdca0b73f6bdf047856fe7016815615ec47243684c650171464dae0475641d310105f15b99d8f8e674964ea53d759f79014be5b9c801a57929eecb0fa437fc7355ed92ea1a9a48acbb300190766111323c0a563eb4bab7e316800fc67bcd490162aff6c5b5cd3e9ed18d2553278cdaf71b0dda5801c3ab7fad6a5883ee414bd877d135add92c57fa6d0154952f3696a8789f10caaa68e7a7faa382e08f1f

(More pictures and videos on the blog)

Leave a Reply

