Heading to Valencia

11/10/15

I’ll start with the important stuff. I got transferred. I’m going to Valencia (on the eastern coast of Spain, south of Barcelona).  I haven’t met my new companion yet but his name is Elder Moulton and he is from Washington.  The area I’ll be serving in just got opened up to missionary work last transfer. So it is a new area and new guys.  To put it into perspective, all four guys in my new piso together will have a total of just 8 transfers in the mission. Super exciting. I’ve heard that there’s going to be lots of South Americans there and I’ll probably get fat because they always feed us, apparently. Oh well not much else to say because nothing has happened yet. Last week was just packing, cleaning and goodbyes, so nothing exciting to talk about. I got sick. So that was sick. I wasn’t allowed to go out one day — you feel pretty useless not doing anything honestly.

I met Elder Lieberum’s sister. Remember the missionary who served in the Oak Creek Ward? Haha.  Small world.  I got my stuff this week – thanks so much for all of it. The jackets are dope and so are the sweaters. Got the books too. Thanks a lot.

I just want you to know that I wash all of my dishes by hand and usually the other guys’ dishes here in the piso so I guess that is karma for never doing them at home. I have to say that it’s not that bad. But I’m still going to have my wife do them. : )  I still don’t make the bed, pretty pointless. Sometimes I fold my blanket in a square.

Anyway, I don’t have much time today but here is something that I liked a lot. So, in my studies this week I read the story of Jesus feeding the 5,000 – Mark’s account of it. I love this story because we can totally relate it to our lives. It’s amazing if we look at the details. They obviously didn’t have enough to feed the 5,000 but they gave what they had to the Savior.  He gave thanks for it and blessed it, and then a miracle followed. There are two things I love about this:

  1. We might not always have a lot, but if we give what we can to the Savior, He can make it enough. After we give Him all that we have His grace takes care of the rest.
  2. Regardless of what we have going on in our lives or what our circumstances are, we always have a reason to give thanks. I love the quote from President Monson when he said:  “My brothers and sisters, to express gratitude is gracious and honorable, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live with gratitude ever in our hearts is to touch heaven.” I testify of this – that Christ’s grace is enough to help us after we do all we can do. He went through it all so we wouldn’t have to do it alone. When we live a life full of gratitude, we will indeed live happier lives. Of this I’m sure.

Get Buckets!

Elder Turner

(Editor’s note:  These pictures are from President and Sister Dayton’s blog.  They are from Elder Turner’s first days in Barcelona before heading to Vitoria back in July.)

IMG_0294 IMG_0295IMG_0293spain_barcelona_mission-copy

Leave a Reply

